Committee on Committees

January 9. 2017 Woodward Conference Room – 6184 10:30 a.m.

Attendees: Steven Swarts, Sue Alvers, Miriam Ezenwa (via phone), Jose Trevino, Nicole Stedman, Jennifer Rea

Jose Trevino called the meeting to order at 10:35 a.m. and introductions were made.

- Dr. Trevino reminded the committee about its charge and then introduced Nicole Stedman, Chair of the Faculty Senate and Chair of the Steering Committee. Dr. Stedman explained that the Steering Committee is working well. Its purpose is to drive the agenda for the Faculty Senate. She stated that the group is responsive and discusses issues that come before the Senate. Several of the liaisons are direct reports to the President and Provost. The Committee includes three members-at-large from the Senate. Dr. Stedman mentioned that the only thing she might change would be to have more administrators as liaisons.
- After the Steering Committee report was complete, the October minutes were approved.
- Steven Swarts distributed a draft of the report that the Committee is to give to the Senate. He asked members to give feedback. He noted that there were some things that should be addressed.
 - The Academic Policy Council Chair requested that the charter/responsibilities be revised to reflect its current role of addressing "general policies"
 - Rick Yost, chair of the Honorary Degrees, Distinguished Alumnus Awards and Memorials Committee asked that the committee drop the "Memorials" off of the Committee name.
 - University Libraries Committee requested that they have a representative on the Research and Scholarship Council.
- The CoC has some questions about the three requests. Sue will invite Dr. Yost and Dr. Sanders to the next meeting. She will also start to invite chairs from the joint committees that have not been reviewed.
- Dr. Trevino mentioned that the Committee on Committees should recommend changes to its responsibilities.
- The Committee will not change the times of the meetings currently scheduled.
- Dr. Trevino was re-elected as chair for 2016-2017.

The meeting adjourned at 11:26 a.m.